new review from “My last chapter”

glöm dä! - grisigast i östergötland

Glöm Dä! – Grisigast i Östergötland 7″

Genre: Crustcore
Origin: Sweden
Released: 2010
Websitehttp://www.glomda.se
Label: Smattra Käng, Fight Back Records, D-Takt & Råpunk Records, Inget Hopp Records, Distro-Y Records, Scull Crasher Records, Kotzetapez, Too Circle Records, Undislessed

I was most definitely surprised when this little bad boy dropped down the mailbox a couple of weeks ago. I’ve really been longing for it, but I honestly haven’t had the meager amount of four euros to actually afford purchasing it. So imagine my joy when I received it as a promo instead! I’ve heard lots of previews, and it feels like Glöm Dä is the new rave in the Swedish hardcorepunk scene, so I had some humongous hopes for the vinyl to kick some serious arse.
And by gosh, they surely didn’t disappoint. They start off raging right from the get go. The d-beat hits you like a ten ton hammer, and their mix of American, Scandinavian, Asian, whatever crustcore really comes off as nothing but picture perfect. One moment I get some State of Fear vibes, suddenly it’s a short spur of Disclose, the next moment I feel some Totalitär to nestle its way into their sound, and for a while I even think of Snifter.

For the opening track, Jobba supa äta skita pissa sova dö, there’s even a slight rockin’ guitar line, getting me thinking of Misery and Extinction of Mankind. Era sopor våran mat has a major hardcore base, but as it gets going I can’t help but to think of Warcollapse. So it’s safe to say there’s tons of familiarity when it comes to Grisigast i Östergötland, which also serves as a standing point for the fact that they don’t really bring anything new to the table. And to be perfectly honest I couldn’t care less!

Each song is a complete rager. They whip up a sound that’s both basic and contrived, probably drawing influence from all over the place. It’s ridden with adrenaline, filled with energy, pissed-as-hell and intrusive as a mother… I understand now why everyone’s talking about this young bunch like they’re the new saviours of Swedish crustcore. Sure, the lyrics aren’t exactly mind-blowing, artsy fartsy and thought-inducing; it’s just basic rants about everyday life.

Årre’s vocals have really come a long way since his days in Extinguish (the first time I came across his work), and his harsh scream goes utterly well in hand with the deeper, and slightly more grunting, back-ups popping up every now and then. The production is raw, yet highly accessible, and everything just comes together in a merry and wholesome record for the entire family. Now I just need to get ahold of their new 7” and the split with Dörrterror.

Tracklist:
01. Jobba supa äta skita pissa sova dö
02. Så jävla naiv
03. Svinhysterin
04. MP3 är fan inte punk
05. Era sopor våran mat
06. Spritad
07. Pantade jävla nazi as

http://www.mylastchapter.net/

Leave a Reply

